2015 Spring Reception

To conclude the Student Research Conference today at Truman, Phi Kappa Phi held an afternoon reception. Chapter members were recognized for their efforts either as student researchers or as faculty research mentors.

Three new faculty/staff members were inducted, including Janet Blohm-Pultz of the McNair Program, Meg Edwards of the Political Science department, and Kathy Otero of the Accounting department. Truman alumna Bridget Morton was also inducted. Bridget is a 1982 graduate of the university and is, among other things, an active adviser to Truman’s Delta Zeta sorority chapter.

Officers for the 2015-2016 academic year were installed as well. New officers include student vice presidents for service Megan O’Brien and Olivia Lanser, student vice president for history Ramolla Shah, treasurer Jack Winstead, and president Jack Holcomb.

Program Part 2

33 Truman Students Inducted as New Members of Phi Kappa Phi

On Sunday, November 16, 2014, 33 students became the newest members of our chapter. The event began with a reception and refreshments at 2:30. The event featured music by Taylor Jokerst, a Society member.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Susan Thomas, Truman’s Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost. Dr. Thomas titled her keynote “Be a Bulldog and a Cat!” She encouraged all the high achieving students to take risks and climb to high places, even if there is a chance they might fall. The trick is always landing on your feet and having the courage to climb again.

This year’s inductees include: Ian Ramon Abundis, Eric Balsman, Derek Benjamin, Amanda Chua, Zane DeZeeuw, Breanne Durovic, Laurie R. Hall, Lester Dominick Hubble, Clara Elizabeth Hughes, Brian Steven Jacob, Julia Judlin, Shelby Kane, Olivia Catherine Lanser, Kira Chatham, Connor Madden, Charlotte Merrigan, Megan O’Brien, Christian Alexander Scott Pierce, Anna Selle, Ramolaa Shah, Amanda E. Shreves, Ryan Staines, Rosalie Swingle, Kaytlin Tippin, Megan A. Todd, Rosemary Truman, Danielle Marie Vassallo, Charles R. Walde, Zachary Wenig, Ian Wohlstadter, Ashton Nicole Wolter, Lynnea D. Wootten, Bing Zheng.